Telecaster build, here I go!

Telecaster582

Strat-Talker
Feb 21, 2022
Muskegon MI
So I found a board (plywood) that we had laying around, and I thought, that would make a nice Tele. It is surf green, and kinda beat up, and I wanna turn it into a telecaster thinline deluxe with Fender wide range humbuckers. This is my first time making a body for a guitar, and I will be buying the neck and pickups, and pickguard. Anyway, just wondering if anybody had an idea or some advice for this build. Thanks.

Telecaster582

Strat-Talker
Feb 21, 2022
Muskegon MI
Forgot about the images sorry. I also forgot to say that it is big enough so I can make a front and a back. With the board as it is not thick enough

Attachments

• IMG_20220310_192601100.jpg
    IMG_20220310_192601100.jpg
    105.4 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_20220310_193203266.jpg
    IMG_20220310_193203266.jpg
    138.2 KB · Views: 16

Groovey

Dr. Stratster
Nov 17, 2016
WV. USA
The neck pocket should be 5/8” of an inch deep to receive a Fender spec’ neck. Looks like you may not have enough meat left to attach a neck.

Kharma Bodies

Strat-Talker
Jan 21, 2021
New York
Many decades ago I made guitar bodies.

I’d be happy to help you with your build.

I don’t know your skill level so I don’t know what info you need. So I need your input.

What type of tools do you have and what are you comfortable working with?

Also, you can make a tele with plywood but it’s not what most would choose. I think it’s a great way of learning how to do this type of work though.

Is your plywood, particle board, or regular bias ply? It doesn’t look like solid core ply.
Also, is that 3/4” both tip and back, or just one side?

You’ll need wood to make a frame for the in between the top and back. Most will use solid wood. Finished thickness is normally 1-3/4” you could make it 1-1/2”. It’s not a tremolo so your limitations will be how much wood you’ll need to secure the neck.

I’ll follow your thread if you have any specific questions.