Wanted Beginners amp

Matin Mojarad

Strat-Talk Member
Jul 22, 2021
Belgium
Hi all!

I'm searching for a beginners amp.
So I started playing guitar for about several months.
I rented an amp. But now I want to buy my own.
What amps would suit me the best?

I don't want a huge amp. I have a multi-effects pedal, so that would compensate (I hope)
the build in amp models. I want something that I (as a beginner) can use for few years.
My budget is about 150 (hopefully I can get something decent).
I searched for the best beginners amp on the internet, but they all wanna try to sell the amps.
So I'm not sure.

Pls don't try to sell something to me :).
I just want your advice.

Thx!

stormsedge

Senior Stratmaster
Gold Supporting Member
Jun 7, 2012
East Tennessee, USA
Check the Thomann music site. I have the Monoprice equivalent to the Harley Benton TUBE 15 (~229 euro)...a really nice amp. Based upon its strengths and reviews/comments I have seen, I recommend looking at the Harley Benton TUBE 5--which falls in your price range.

Thomann also lists a Fender Frontman 10G in your price range. I purchased one of those several years ago for the grandkids and have heard no complaints.

I also have a Blackstar Super Fly and a larger Blackstar (HT40) amp...you about cannot go wrong with the Blackstar brand.

In any event, since you have a multi effects you are happy with, you can concentrate on a simpler amp (with a little more power)...cleaner is better in my experience with external effects.

Happy hunting!

2010cb

Strat-Talker
Silver Member
Nov 21, 2020
NY
I second the Harley Benton Tube 5 if it is the same as the Monoprice 5-watt 1x8 tube combo. The Monoprice is on their website for $119.

I’ll add the Yamaha THR5 as another option. Right now it seems like they are $209 new, but I’m pretty sure I’ve seen them well below $200 in the past. Maybe they’ve jumped up in price since then. I see them used right now in the $140-$170 range.